An Unexpected Blog : An Introduction & Hello

an introduction & hello3 (1)

In a hole in the ground, there lived a hobbit.

Greetings, everyone! Welcome to my blog! I hope you will enjoy your stay. Please help yourself to the tea and cookies on the table in front of the fireplace.

My name is Hannah, and I am both Hobbit and Hufflepuff at heart. I am an as of yet currently unpublished author, striving towards that goal. This blog will be a way to get to know me better, and since stories are my passion, is what I will talk about most here, from fairy tales to tv shows, books to video games.

The reason this is a bit of an unexpected blog, because up until recently, because I did not think I was going to get back into blogging. I used to dabble in it when I was a young thing, and was never very consistent. I plan to change that, and am pretty excited to do this now!

But before we jump completely into the swing of things, I’d love to introduce myself a little more, and I would love to learn more about you, too! So I’ve come up with a list of questions for myself in three different categories that I will at the end of this post extend for you to answer in the comments below! Ready? Kay, set, go!

 

AUTHOR QUESTIONS

  1. What do you write?
    Spec fic! Which is slang for speculative fiction, which means everything weird and unusual. Primarily, I write fantasy, though I occasionally dabble in science-fiction.
  2. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been creating stories ever since I can remember. I have very clear memories of coloring in my Barbie fashion coloring book and coming up with a running storyline that tied all of the seemingly unrelated pictures together. I’ve loved reading ever since I learned, and that has certainly helped fuel my love for stories. I wrote and illustrated my first book when I was around seven, The Caterpillar Family. I really started writing hardcore when I was eleven to twelve, starting with a self-insert Scooby-Doo fanfiction. I never got more than a few paragraphs written of it, but I do believe that I drew a pretty awesome Bubblegum Phantom.

IMG_5828

Look at that. Spooky, right?

I started but never finished many other stories, until I was thirteen and I discovered the One Year Adventure Novel writing curriculum. I could go on, and on, about how this curriculum not only enabled me to to write excellent stories, but also changed my life. But I’ll save the sales pitch for another post. 😉

With OYAN, I finished my first novel, and have written four others since then.

  1. What’s your favourite part of the writing process?

It really depends on my mood honestly! Characters are my favourite things about stories, so I’m tempted to say character creation, but I love both the exciting thrill of writing the rough draft of a story for the first time, and of putting the final, polishing touches on a last draft.

READER QUESTIONS

  1. Quick! The first five books that come to mind are? (Doesn’t have to be your favourites, just the first five books that come to mind)

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

The Mitten by Jan Brett

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Mutt in the Iron Muzzle (Adventures of Wishbone #7) by Michael Jan Friedman

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Well, that’s a bit amusing! I have no idea why The Mutt in the Iron Muzzle popped into my head! I don’t think I’ve ever read it,and I haven’t thought about the Wishbone books in years!

  1. How many of those books are in your top five books?

Only two! Howl’s Moving Castle and The Lord of the Rings.

  1. Do you have cute, nice, or fancy bookmarks, or do you use whatever is lying around?

Yes to both… I have lots of fun bookmarks, but I tend to use library receipts, tissues, or tiny scraps of paper I’ve scribbled random notes on.

IMG_5827
A few of my favourite bookmarks… that I rarely use… Oops…

 

FANDOM QUESTIONS

  1. Top five favourite fandoms!

Star Wars, Marvel (particularly the MCU), the How to Train Your Dragon films, Disney, and (this is hard to choose… but I think I’ll have to go with:) Avatar: The Last Airbender.

  1. Favourite piece of fan merch? (Bonus: Post a picture!)

I’ve recently started collecting Funko Pops! And I’m in love. I’m probably cheating, but I can’t decide who I love more, my Peggy Carter or Newt Scamander Pops.

IMG_5825

Aren’t they just both adorable?

 

  1. If you could meet any fictional character, who would you choose?

This answer changes daily, honestly. But right now, I really want to meet the Doctor (Either Nine or Eleven), and then (ha, maybe I’m cheating on this, but I didn’t say I and the fictional character couldn’t go meet a non-fictional person…) we’d go meet C.S. Lewis.

Now hopefully you know a little bit more about me, and I expect as I continue blogging, we’ll get to know each other even better. 🙂

Tell me more about yourself! Answer as many of these questions as you’d like in the comments below, or if you’d prefer, send me an email!

AUTHOR QUESTIONS

  1. What do you write?
  2. How long have you been writing?
  3. What’s your favourite part of the writing process?

READER QUESTIONS

  1. Quick! The first five books that come to mind are? (Doesn’t have to be your favourites, just the first five books that come to mind)
  2. How many of those books are in your top five books?
  3. Do you have cute, nice, or fancy bookmarks, or do you use whatever is lying around?

FANDOM QUESTIONS

  1. Top five favourite fandoms!
  2. Favourite piece of fan merch? (Bonus: Post a picture!)
  3. If you could meet any fictional character, who would you choose?
4 thoughts on “An Unexpected Blog : An Introduction & Hello

  1. Leota Staples says:

    Thanks Hannah ! I really enjoyed reading this blog. I feel that I am learning much more about you . Please keep on y.our list. I probably won’t have many questions, but like hearing the answers to any questions that you have been asked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

